0.1 Maneuvers v1.0
0.1.1 Charge Lanes

The rules for charging have been slightly altered, based on things that actually worked better in D&D 3.0, as
inspired by Sean K. Reynolds here.

Charge

Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and attack during the
action. Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you can move.

First, pick a destination square. Then determine straightest line of movement from your position to that square.
If that line is blocked by anything (allies, enemies, furniture, difficult terrain), you cannot charge. Helpless creatures
don't block charges. If you cannot see the destination square, you also cannot charge.

Next, choose your weapon, and note its Reach. Choose an enemy to attack. You must have line of sight towards
that enemy at the start of your turn; otherwise you're not allowed to charge that enemy this turn. Determine the
first square along the path of your charge from which you can reach that enemy. You must make your attack from
that square.

Finally, execute your charge. You move along the line of your charge, make the attack, and complete movement.
It is therefore possible to continue moving even after a charge (see diagram). Note that if you charge past an enemy,
and he survives your attack, it is quite possible that he'll make an attack of opportunity against you because you
left one of his threatened squares. You must complete your announced movement if possible, even if the attack
didn’'t succeed as well as you'd hoped. (The Ride-By Attack feat prevents this AoO, Spring Attack provides
an alternative way of moving past an enemy without charging that doesn’t provoke, and Mobility boosts your AC
against the AoQ.)


http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l5b9?Mounts-with-attacks-and-the-RideByAttack-Feat#30

Charges are not limited to following the grid. -
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E = enemy
* = “closest space from which you

can attack the opponent”

Of course, it's also possible to charge directly towards an enemy, in which your move will usually end right in
front of him followed by an attack.

If you have a Base Attack Bonus of +1 or higher, you can draw a weapon during a charge, but you are only
allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed).

If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move
up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon (unless you possess the Quick
Draw feat, which makes drawing weapons a free action). You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking
only a standard action on your turn (such as during the surprise round, or when you're Staggered).

Attacking on a Charge: After or while moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on
the attack roll and take a -2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn. The AC penalty starts as soon as
you announce the charge.

Even if you have extra attacks, such as from having a high enough base attack bonus or from using multiple
weapons, you only get to make one attack during a charge.

Mounted Charge: Several feats and abilities talk about “mounted charges” or “from the back of a charging
mount” and suchlike. The language is somewhat varied and unsystematic, but all means the same. If you're mounted,



your mount can charge, and thus move up to twice its speed. You then have the choice whether to be considered
charging (gaining the 42 to hit and -2 AC, doing more damage with a lance and so forth), or to not be charging
yourself. In other words: if you want to charge, your mount must charge, but just because your mount charges,
doesn’t mean you have to as well.

New Feat:

Leap Attack

You jump over obstacles and ravines to get to your enemy.

Prerequisites: Acrobatics 1 rank

Benefit: You can charge even if there is an obstruction on your charge lane, by jumping over it using Acrobatics.
You're allowed one jump per charge, plus one more per 4 ranks in Acrobatics.

Special: If a jump ends directly in the square from which you attack your enemy, you also qualify for the
benefits of the Death From Above feat.

Explanation

Recent discussions on the Paizo forum have demonstrated that Ride-By Attack doesn’t actually make sense
under a strict reading of the Charge rules, because those would only allow you to charge through, not by,
people. On further consideration it really does make sense that even without a mount, you can run past
someone and whack them. Of course that’s risky if it doesn’t kill them, but hey.

There was already some confusion about whether you had to charge in the most direct Euclidean line
towards the target (since PF largely doesn’t care about Euclidean distance), or whether all charge lines with
minimal movement cost were allowed. This rule should also remove that confusion.

Finally, an added potential benefit is that charging becomes less stupid to do. Under standard rules, if you
charge at someone and don’t kill them, they are the first ones to get a chance to use a full attack, not you. But
if you can charge past someone, you could get out of full attack reach again (at the price of an AoO, though).

0.1.2 Overrun

To overrun someone means to move through his square to a square on the other side of your enemy. If you
succeed, you end up on a legal square on the other side of the enemy. If you fail, you stay on this side of the
enemy. (If for some reason your starting square is occupied, you're moved to the nearest legal space in front
of the enemy.)

You can only overrun an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. Attempting an
overrun normally provokes an Attack of Opportunity from the target. If that attack hits and deals damage, the
damage is a penalty on your maneuver check. (Note: the Improved Overrun feat alleviates this risk.)

The target of your overrun attempt may choose to let you though without making a check. In that case he
does not risk any of the additional effects of being overrun, but is not allowed to make an Attack of Opportu-
nity either. If the target does not let you through, make a CMB vs. CMD maneuver check. If you succeed, you
move through. If you succeed by 5 or more, you also knock the enemy prone. (Note: with the Improved Overrun
feat you can — but don’t have to — forbid the target from just letting you past. So if you feel confident in your CMB, you
might wish to make the roll anyway, so that there’s a chance your opponent gets knocked prone.)

Overrun as a Standard Action: provided your speed is sufficient to move to the other end of your enemy
in a single move, you can make an overrun as a standard action. (This should only be an issue for slow attackers
against really big enemies.)

Overrun as a Charge: You can declare a Charge whose line of movement is obstructed by an enemy, by
saying you intend to Overrun that enemy during your Charge. This counts as your attack during that Charge.
(Note that if you overrun someone and then continue onward with your movement, you're leaving the opponent’s threat-
ened area and he could make an Attack of Opportunity.)

Overrun and Weapons: Overrun doesn’t use weapons, so no weapon enhancements aid overrun attempts,
nor does two-weapon fighting or a multitude of natural weapons or suchlike. (Although some creatures have
superior built-in overrun capabilities, like bisons.)

Overrun with Iterative Attacks: If you have iterative attacks (due to BAB 6+), you can as a full-round
action overrun multiple enemies in a row. You can cover distance up to your Speed by using successive
overruns and normal movement. If you run out of attacks (and/or fail halfway) you end your move in the
nearest appropriate legal space.

If you're allowed to make iterative attacks on a Charge, the total distance you can cover is up to twice your
speed. However, you must get a 10ft start before the first attack, and any failed attempt ends your action.

Explanation

The Overrun rules were so confusing (the “or as part of a charge part”) that many people never dared rely
on them. That’s obviously no good for the game. This house rule obviously makes it a bit more attractive. The
possibility of using Iteratives to fight your way through a mob will also be useful to warriors seeking to move
past a BBEG caster’s bodyguards.

Clarified overrun rules should also be of use to mounted warriors.



Revised feat:
Charge Through
You can overrun enemies when charging.
Prerequisites: Improved Overrun
Benefit: When making a charge, you can attempt to overrun one creature in the path of the charge as a free
action. If you successfully overrun that creature, you can complete the charge. If the overrun is unsuccessful,
the charge ends in the space directly in front of that creature.

If your BAB is high enough to grant you iterative attacks, you can overrun additional creatures in the path
of your charge as free actions, but with the appropriate iterative penalties. (-5 for the second one, provided you
have BAB 6+, -10 for the third one provided you have BAB 11+ etc.) This cannot be combined with any other ability
that allows you to make multiple attacks during a charge, such as Pounce.

Normal: You must have a clear path toward the target of your charge.

0.1.3 Grappling with really big critters

When a creature grapples enemies at least 3 sizes smaller than it, the attacking creature doesn’t have to become
Grappled itself if it doesn’t want to. It will still be using one appendage (tentacle, claw...) to maintain the
grapple though. (It can still become grappled if attacked by those creatures.)

0.1.4 Explanation

Under RAW rules, a Roc that tries to snatch an adventurer with a Flyby Attack will usually come to an abrupt
stop once it gains the Grappled condition because grappled creatures can’t freely move around.

0.1.5 Pull an ally to safety

It happens frequently: a PC goes down in a dangerous place, and another one wants to drag him to safety. The
rules are vague, so houserules:

e You can a creature with you as a Standard action, provided the creature is helpless and in your square or
adjacent to it, and that you can drag that much weight.! This provokes attacks of opportunity; opponents
may attack you or the draggee (not both). Any opponent threatening the draggee may also attack you
even if it normally couldn’t reach you. However, you may choose to force any attack targeting the
draggee to target you instead.

¢ To pull a non-helpless ally to safety (for example during a surprise round), you must use Drag or Repo-
sition maneuvers. Your ally may not choose to let the attack succeed automatically. Note that this is
actually easier if your ally is still flat-footed.

!Under normal rules, you can drag things up to 5 times your Light load, but remember to add your own load, the creature’s load, and
the creature’s weight. See page 169 of the CRB for details.
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